A taste of summer

Image

I’m officially over a third of the way through my remix chain! Woohoo! We had a gorgeous week of weather. We even flirted with the record high temperatures for a couple of days. I had forgotten what it felt like to walk outside in shorts and a tee and not get goosebumps!

To be honest, I wasn’t crazy about this outfit. I thought pairing the cardigan with a skirt would be too predictable, so I picked these shorts instead. I wanted bottoms that hit at my natural waist because the cardigan is cropped. Once that was decided, I went back and forth on a top to go under the cardigan. Do I go with a colored tank? Something more interesting? I ended up with this sequined tank top I’ve had for a couple of years. I feel like I don’t wear it enough (mostly because I’m worried about the sequins breaking off somehow!).

Image

Image

Cardigan: ModCloth | Tank top (old): Express | Shorts: ModCloth | Sandals: American Eagle Outfitters (similar) | Earrings: ModCloth | Sunglasses: ModCloth

Image

I leaned more retro-nautical with this outfit. I couldn’t resist wearing my red striped top with my gold Sperrys!

Image

Image

Top: H&M (last worn here) | Shorts: ModCloth | Shoes: Sperry Top-Sider via Dillard’s (exact; last worn here) | Earrings: Forever 21 (gifted) | Sunglasses: ModCloth

Image

Everyone and their mother has been wearing stripes and florals together this spring, so I decided to give the trend a try myself. I didn’t want to do the typical striped top/floral bottom or vice versa, so I paired my striped top with my floral scarf from Italy. I think it’s a fun mix! Also, fair warning: I may or may not be wearing stripes for the next week.

Image

Image

Top: H&M | Skirt: Madewell | Scarf: a market in Florence, Italy (last worn here) | Sandals: ModCloth | Sunglasses: ModCloth

13 thoughts on “A taste of summer

  1. Hi Kimi! I somehow stumbled across your blog while looking for reviews of Sperrys this evening. I am looking at purchasing my very first pair! I have read all sorts of stories on various websites about Sperrys making feet really sweaty so I have been hesitant to buy a pair in the past. Has this been your experience with Sperrys or are your feet always dry when you wear them?

    Fantastic website, by the way! You have a new fan!

    Sarah.

    • Hi Sarah! Thanks so much for stopping by!! πŸ™‚ My feet do get warm in them, but I haven’t noticed them getting super sweaty. (My boyfriend’s feet sweat in them, but they sweat in all of his shoes so I’m not convinced that it’s the Sperrys’ fault!) Mine have the ventilation holes in the bottom to help airflow, and I make sure not to wear them two days in a row so they have time to air out. I also don’t wear them when it’s really hot outside (90+ degrees F). Hope that helps!

  2. Thank you for the feedback! You are extremely blessed to have feet that don’t sweat! There are plenty of ‘horror’ stories on-line about Sperrys and stinky feet. It is really good to know there are exceptions (like you!). Thanks again for the feedback.

    • Haha, well my feet do sweat in flats, so I’m not that lucky! πŸ˜‰ But yeah, I haven’t noticed it in my Sperrys…but I’ll pay closer attention next time I wear them to make sure. You’re welcome!

      • Haha! Don’t get me started on flats! I avoid them completely for that very reason! I have never owned a pair of Sperrys, so your feedback on them is really appreciated. I am not sure if it is because I am partly obsessive-compulsive, but I have such an intense fear of my feet sweating! Next time you wear your Sperrys on a warm/hot day, can you double check there is definitely no sweat or smell? I have lousy genetics when it comes to foot sweat, so I am really particular about what shoes I buy and I absolutely love the look of Sperrys!

        Thanks, Kimi! Have a fantastic weekend!

    • I wore my Sperrys again today. It was about 90 degrees at the warmest, but I spend most of the time inside. My feet did sweat a bit but not more than usual; I think they get sweatier in flats, honestly. I don’t notice a smell, either, but I imagine if I wear them often through the summer then they’ll start smelling. I want to do something involving baking soda to prevent smells but haven’t found anything yet. The aerated soles definitely help! πŸ™‚ Hope that helps some more! xo

      • Thank you! I feel very confident in buying a pair now! You are the best!

        Blessings,

        Sarah.

Leave a Reply

