Stripes + zig-zags

Image

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this outfit. I was really excited for it, but I didn’t feel nearly the same excitement when I was going through the photos. Maybe the top is just too long? Should I have buttoned my cardigan? (Why do I overthink everything?) I am obsessed with red, white, and navy together. It’s one of my favorite color combos, and with Memorial Day next week, the timing of this outfit is almost perfect. Hopefully by then I’ll be completely over this cold. I’m at the stuffy-and-runny-nose-at-the-same-time part of the cold, which is my least favorite part of colds. We are planning on going hiking this weekend, and I’m hoping to not have to stop every 10 feet to blow my nose. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

ImageImageImage

Top: J.Crew Factory (last seen here) | Cardigan: Madewell (last seen here) | Pants: Gap (last seen here) | Flats: ModCloth | Earrings: ModCloth | Sunglasses: ModCloth

8 thoughts on “Stripes + zig-zags

  1. I feel like doing all the buttons on the shirt is too much coverage, maybe? Or maybe add a nice long pendant and necklace, or maybe a scarf (although I know it’s too hot and you’ll REALLY be too covered up for spring/summer). Hope these suggestions help, that’s why you have a blog right, so you can figure out what works and what doesn’t.

    • Thanks for the ideas! 🙂 I actually tried unbuttoning the top buttons, but it didn’t flap open so it basically didn’t change anything. Back in March, I wore this top with a necklace and it did not look right with the banded neckline. Ah well! A scarf would work, but yeah, when it gets above 75, I hate having a covered neck. It’ll probably look better tucked into pants or a skirt.

  2. I love the outfit combination, and that shirt looks like a super cool piece. You might try it with a collar necklace that would lie right below the banded neckline. Otherwise I would suggest a shorter cardigan, or even a springy moto jacket or blazer, to change up the lengths of everything. Then your two tops wouldn’t be at the same length.

    xxAmy
    Sugared Rush

Leave a Reply

