Outfit Re-creation: Kendi Everyday

It’s time for a new outfit re-creation! I’m constantly inspired by the bloggers I follow, and every once in a while someone wears an outfit that I never would have thought to put together myself and that I must replicate with things in my closet. Kendi of Kendi Everyday wore this particular outfit over a year ago. I loved it so much that I made a mental note to recreate it someday. (At the time, I didn’t own a white button down, burgundy pants, or a black crossbody bag, and I only had a mint cardigan.) I saved the look to Pinterest and featured it in my first Outfit Obsessions post, knowing that someday I would have all of the items and could put it together.

You’d be hard-pressed to meet a fashion/style blogger who doesn’t know of Kendi! She is a very well-known blogger who started years ago and popularized the 30×30 remix challenges. She mostly features her everyday, attainable personal style. Even though she has started dressing in more higher-end brands (likely due to her success!), I still find myself inspired by the looks she puts together. Nothing feels out of reach, and that is so important to me and why I follow the bloggers I do.

(Click on the photo below to go directly to her post! Then, scroll down for my version…)

kendi_wintermint

What is not to love about this look?! Here’s my version! 🙂

IMG_2073

There’s just something I love about mint and burgundy together. Plus, here’s proof that burgundy isn’t just for the fall/winter! Mint totally “springifies” it, I think.

IMG_2099 IMG_2123 IMG_2117

J.Crew Factory sweater (on sale in limited sizes; last seen here) / Uniqlo shirt (last seen here) / Madewell pants (on sale in limited sizes) / ModCloth wedges (similar) / Halogen bag / Anthropologie sunglasses

12 thoughts on “Outfit Re-creation: Kendi Everyday

  1. Obsessed doesn’t even begin to cover how I feel about this look (both yours and Kendi’s)! Love it!

    (She’s one of my favorites too, and I have even older outfits of hers pinned!)

    Katie @ Style On Target

  2. This is a great way to bring your burgundy pants into spring! I love it! This may have been the time when I wasn’t keeping up with Kendi because I was blog readerless. I still love Kendi, even since her success. She has stayed down to earth and still takes the time to write a quippy bit with her outfits, which is more I than I can say for some who fashion blog for a living. I actually looked back for one of her outfits for inspiration today!

  3. Oh, I love this! Such a fresh color combo for spring, and your version looks great on you. I admit that I’ve always loved Kendi but really only skim through her posts these days and haven’t pinned many recent ones because they are feeling slightly more out of touch – but it might just be a personal style thing. Or an I work from home so primarily wear jeans thing. I do still have tons of her older outfits posted though and she’s one of the reasons I first started doing any style posts at all, which I’m glad for because now I find them so fun.

    p.s. I do a linkup once a month for Pinterest-inspired projects, outfits, recipes, etc. You should come join in with this recreation on April 23 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 I find myself not saving as many of her looks lately for the same reasons; I tend to wear denim and flats, but sometimes I’m inspired by a color combo, and sometimes flats would work just as well as heels so I keep that in mind. I totally agree regarding how fun style posts are! And thanks for reminding me about the link-up! I’ll be out of town then but I will try my best to remember to link-up if I have time.

Leave a Reply

